Livingston Group

Formed in 1980, most of our members come from around Livingston including Bathgate, East, West & Mid Calder, Uphall, Blackburn and Broxburn.

Livingston Ramblers have 3 walking groups: The Thursday Alternative – walks which take place on alternate Thursdays throughout the year commencing at 10am. These are generally between 5 and 8 miles. The Saturday Challenge – walks take place most Saturdays, often starting at 7 or 7:30 am, with some challenging walks with Munros and Corbetts to the fore. The Sunday Venture walks start at 8am on most Sundays, ranging from 7 to 13 miles, and include a wide walk variety e.g. along river banks, valleys or forests, hill climbs and coastal rambles.

Walks are followed by a visit to a local hostelry or tearoom for a meal or snack. Most walk destinations are reached by car, so car-sharing is common. There are occasional weekends away plus the odd social occasion.

THERE ARE TWO MEETING POINTS: both the Saturday & Sunday groups meet at Livingston North Railway Station, Carmondean Centre South, Deans (LNRS) NT036687, located behind the Carmondean petrol garage and the Arnold Clark car dealership across the road from Morrisons.

The Thursday walks meet at Sainsbury’s Car Park, Almondvale Retail Park, Almondvale South (SCP) NT048661.

First Group buses operate out of Livingston Shopping Centre/bus terminal, which is approximately ¼ mile from SCP & 1.5 miles from LNRS, which is served by the no 26 to Carmondean.

TRAINS: LNRS sits on the Edinburgh/Bathgate line whilst SCP is near Livingston South station on the Edinburgh/Glasgow Central Line.

Parking is normally available free of charge at both Meeting Points.

PASSENGER DONATION: a standard mileage charge is applied and the cost is split equally between all the participants including car drivers.

We regret no dogs are allowed on our walks where livestock may be encountered. On other walks, dogs may be allowed at the discretion of the walk leader.

WALKS PROGRAMME – April to October 2015

Thursday 2 April C+ walk 10km Explorer 344
Pentland Hills circular via Maiden’s Cleuch, Bonaly Reservoir &  Kirkton Cottage. 230m ascent along hill paths. Meet Sainsbury’s car park 10:00.

Friday 3 – Monday 6 April EASTER WEEKEND
Staying at Ullapool Youth Hostel. Make own hostel booking. 
Walks to be discussed.  Contact leader for further information and transport arrangements

Sunday 5 April  B+ walk 12km OS 73
Dundreich Ring from Eddleston with the Easter Day egg roll Total ascent 500m. Steady hill climb to ridge on good but occasionally muddy paths & tracks. Meet LNRS 08:00.

Thursday 9 April C+ walk 14km OS 65
Blackness to Linlithgow section of John Muir Way. 100m ascent. Shore walk along the Forth from Blackness to Bo’ness then easy climb through Kinneil Woods followed by descent through farmland to Linlithgow. Meet Sainsbury's car park, in the centre of the car park 10:00 adjacent, opposite Toys R Us and KFC. Grid Ref. NT049661

Saturday 11 April B walk 14km OS 56
Creag Tharsuinn (Graham) from Glen Masson.  560m ascent. Meet LNRS 07:00.  Please note mileage cost plus approx. £8 per person (return) for Western Ferries McInroy’s Point - Hunter’s Quay.

Sunday 12 April  B walk  15 km  OS Explorer 370
Falkland and the Lomond Hills. Total ascent 650m. Meet LNRS 08:00.

**Tuesday 21 April Programme Meeting,
time to work out our fixtures for Winter 2015.
Carmondean Community Centre, Nether Dechmont Farm, from 7.00pm**

Thursday 23 April  C+ walk 12km OS Explorer 351
Gullane to North Berwick coastal walk with return by public transport.  Minimal ascent over beach, dunes & woods.  Meet Sainsbury’s car park 10:00.

Sunday 26 April   B walk  10km  OS 57
Ben Ledi foothills via Bochastle Hill, Stank glen and old railway line passing the falls of Leny.  350m ascent along forest track, one steep descent, and the old railway line and river side path. Meet LNRS 08:00.

Thursday 30 April C walk  9km OS 64
Chatelherault Country Park following the River Avon to Green Bridge and return via opposite bank. 100m ascent along good forest tracks, occasionally muddy.  Meet Sainsbury’s car park 10:00.

Saturday 2 May B+ walk 19km OS 43
Glas Maol (Munro) via Monega Hill (at 908m the highest hill in Scotland) from Auchavan, Glen Isla. 850m ascent. Meet LNRS 07:00.

Sunday 3 May B+ walk 21km OS 52
Loch Ordie - Deuchary Hill circular. 240m ascent along mainly good tracks beside small lochs and steady slow climbs with a steeper climb of Deuchary Hill. Meet LNRS 08:00.

Saturday 9 May A walk 21km OS 50
Beinn Odhar, Beinn Chaorach & Cam Chreag (3 Corbetts). 1200m ascent. Meet LNRS 07:00.

Sunday 10 May B walk 12km OS 58
Lomond Hills circular via Holl Reservoir, Bishop Hill and West Lomond. 300m ascent on paths and hill tracks. Meet LNRS 08:00.

Thursday 14 May C+ walk 10.5km OS 59
Crail circular. 100m ascent on tracks and beach. Meet Sainsbury’s car park 10:00.

Friday 15 – Monday 18 May Torridon Weekend
Staying at Torridon Youth Hostel. Make own hostel booking.
Walks to be discussed.  Contact leader for further information and transport arrangements

Saturday 23 May B+ walk 13km OS 50
Beinn Udlaidh & Beinn Bhreac-Liath (2 Corbetts). 920m ascent. Meet LNRS 07:00.

Sunday 24 May B+ walk 11 km OS 56
Ben Lomond (Munro) from Rowardennan via Ptarmigan Ridge. 1000m ascent. Meet LNRS 08:00.

Thursday 28 May  C walk 11km OS 65
Linlithgow Avonside circular. Linlithgow Bridge along River Avon
to Muiravonside Park and return by Union Canal. Negligible ascent. Paths can be muddy and one steep set of steps. Meet at Livingston Football Stadium car park at 10.00am

Saturday 30 May B+ walk 11km OS 56
Ben Lomond (Munro). 940m ascent. Meet LNRS 07:30.

Sunday 31 May B walk 12km OS 72
Romannobridge circular over Whiteside Hill and Wether Law. Meet LNRS 08:00.

Saturday 6 June A walk 28km OS 42
A’ Chaoirnich (Maol Creag an Loch) and An Dun.  A long walk over two remote and steep Corbetts. 900m ascent. Meet LNRS 07:00.

Sunday 7 June B walk 18km OS 57
Menteith Hill, Aberfoyle. Circular walk from Braeval over Menteith Hill. 400m ascent. Meet LNRS 08:00.

Thursday 11 June C+ walk 14.5km OS 66/Explorer 345
Lammer Law and Hopes Reservoir. Circular walk from Blinkbonny Wood near Longyester over Lammer Law and return via Hopes reservoir. Mainly on hill tracks and minor roads. 350m ascent. Meet The Football Stadium Car Park, Alderstone Road, Livingston NT 047670 10:00.

Saturday 20 June B+ walk 12km OS 56
Beinn a’Choin (Corbett). 730m ascent. Meet LNRS 07:30.

Sunday 21 June B walk 14km OS 73
Minch Moor circuit from Walkerburn. Forest track via Cadon Bank, Minch Moor, Middle Rig and Bold Burn. 620m ascent on forest road/tracks and minor tarred road. Meet LNRS 08:00.

Thursday 25 June C+ walk 7km OS 58
Dollar and Muckhart Mill Circular. 150m ascent on rural paths and quiet roads. Meet at the Football Stadium Car Park, Alderstone Road, Livingston NT 047670 at 09.30am

Sunday 28 June B walk 15km OS 73
Peebles to Innerleithen linear walk. Ridge Walk via Caresman Hill, Black Law and Lee Pen. Return to Peebles by bus. 500m ascent. Meet LNRS 08:00.

Saturday 4 July B+ walk OS 51
Meall nam Tarmachan (Munro). 600m ascent. Meet LNRS 07:30.

Sunday 5 July B walk 16.5km OS 59
Elie circular walk, farm estate and coastal walk on good tracks and beach. Minimal ascent. Meet LNRS 08:00.

Thursday 9 July B walk 8km OS 58
Moncreiffe Hill Circuit. Waymarked woodland paths. 250m ascent. Meet at the Football Stadium Car Park, Alderstone Road, Livingston NT 047670 10:00.

Saturday 11 July B+ walk 19km OS 77
The Dungeon Hills. Craignaw, Dungeon Hill and Mullwharchar (2 Grahams / 3 Donalds). Return by Murder Hole. 850m ascent. Meet LNRS 07:00.

Friday 17 – Monday 20 July Glen Nevis Weekend
Staying at Glen Nevis Youth Hostel. 
Make own hostel booking.  Walks to be discussed. 
Contact leader for further information and transport arrangements

Sunday 19 July B walk 14km OS 57
Ben Venue (Graham). From Loch Auchray on forest track plus hill path. 725m ascent. Meet LNRS 08:00.

Thursday 23 July C walk 4km OS 66
Vogrie Country Park. Vogrie to Blinkbonnie Farm circular. Minimal ascent on good tracks and paths. Meet at the Football Stadium Car Park, Alderstone Road, Livingston NT 047670 10:00.

Saturday 25 July B+ walk 18km OS 35
Carn an Fhreiceadain (Corbett). 630m ascent. Meet LNRS 07:00.

Sunday 26 July B walk 21km OS 66
Edinburgh Green circular. From Water of Leith via Blackford Hill and Craiglockhart Glen. 200m ascent. Meet LNRS 08:00.

Saturday 1 August B+ walk 12km OS 56
Meall an Fhudair (Corbett). 800m ascent. Meet LNRS 07:30.

Sunday 2 August B walk 8km OS 51&57
Ben Vorlich (Loch Earn) (Munro). 875m ascent. Meet LNRS 08:00.

Thursday 6 August C walk 12.5km OS 73/Explorer 337
Cademuir Hill Fort and the Tweed from Peebles. 250m ascent. Meet at the Football Stadium Car Park, Alderstone Road, Livingston NT 047670 10:00.

Saturday 8 August B+ walk 15km OS 42
Meall na Meoig (Beinn Pharlagain) (Corbett). 660m ascent. Meet LNRS 07:00.

Friday 14 – Monday 17 August Grasmere Weekend
Staying at Grasmere Youth Hostel. Make own hostel booking. 
Walks to be discussed.  Contact leader for further information and transport arrangements.

Sunday 16 August B walk 17km OS 52
Glen Turret circular. Glen Turret Dam to Choinneachain Hill and Ton Eich. 800m ascent. Meet LNRS 08:00.

Thursday 20 August C+ walk 10km OS 52
Hermitage and Dunkeld. Circular from Dunkeld to The Hermitage, past Ossian’s Hall and waterfalls, over Rumbling Bridge, returning by farm and woodland. 250m ascent. Meet at the Football Stadium Car Park, Alderstone Road, Livingston NT 047670 09:30.

Saturday 22 August B+ walk 28km OS 36 & 43
Beinn a’ Bhuird (Munro). 870m ascent. Meet LNRS 07:00.

Sunday 23 August B walk 15km OS 57
Queen Elizabeth Forest circular. David Marshall Lodge to Craigmore and return across Duke’s Pass and by forest trails. 400m ascent. Meet LNRS 08:00.

Sunday 30 August B walk 15km OS 57
Arrochar Alps Circuit. Glen Loin, Inveruglas Water and by Alt Coiregrogan. 610m ascent. Meet LNRS 08:00.

Thursday 3 September B walk 9.2km OS 58
Auchlinsky, Commonedge and Seamab Hills. 280m ascent. Hill walk, through forest to open hills. Meet at the Football Stadium Car Park, Alderstone Road, Livingston NT 047670 10:00.

Saturday 12 September B+ walk 12km OS 50
Ben Dorain and Beinn an Dothaidh (2 Munros). 1140m ascent. Meet LNRS 07:30.

Sunday 13 September B walk 17km OS Explorer 344
Pentland Hills circular. Hillend via Boghall, Castlelaw Farm, Capelaw Hill, Bonaly Reservoir and Swanston Village. 450m ascent. Meet LNRS 08:00.

Thursday 17 September C walk 11km OS 67
Dunbar & Belhaven Bay circular. John Muir Way and coastal path returning via John Muir Country Park. Negligible ascent. Meet at the Football Stadium Car Park, Alderstone Road, Livingston NT 047670 10:00.

Saturday 19 September B+ walk 16km OS 51
Beinn Glas, Ben Lawers & An Stuc. (3 Munros). 1050m ascent. Meet LNRS 07:00.

Sunday 20 September B+ walk 13.5km OS 79
Grey Mare’s Tail and White Coomb (Corbett). 740m ascent. Meet LNRS 08:00.

Saturday 26 September B+ walk 10km OS 51
Beinn nan Imirean (Corbett). 690m ascent. Meet LNRS 07:30.

Sunday 27 September B walk 17 km OS 52
Birnam, Rumbling Bridge circular via Hermitage and Inver. Minimal ascent. Meet LNRS 08:00.

Thursday 1 October B walk 6.5km OS 58
Tillicoultry and Dollar circular on paths and disused railway. 100m ascent. Meet at the Football Stadium Car Park, Alderstone Road, Livingston NT 047670 10:00.

**Tuesday 6 October Programme Meeting,
time to work out our fixtures for Summer 2016.
Carmondean Community Centre, Nether Dechmont Farm, from 7.00pm**

Saturday 10 October B walk 16 km OS 58
Ochil Hills circular. (3 Donalds) King’s Seat Hill, Tarmangie Hill, Innerdownie from Dollar Glen. 700m ascent. Meet LNRS 07:30.

Sunday 11 October B walk 14km OS 57
Ben Venue (Graham) circular. 725m ascent. Meet LNRS 08:00.

Thursday 15 October C+ walk 13km OS 66
Brushing the Pentlands: Cleuchs and reservoirs. Circular from Balerno past Malleny House to Currie, through Poet’s Glen to Blinkbonny, then onto Clubbiedean and Torduff reservoirs and up to Bonaly reservoir, returning over Harbour Hill to Harlaw reservoir and Balerno. 360m ascent. Meet at the Football Stadium Car Park, Alderstone Road, Livingston NT 047670 10:00.

Saturday 17 October B+ walk 8km OS 50/56
Ben Vorlich (Munro) Loch Lomond. 943m ascent. Meet LNRS 07:30.

Sunday 18 October C+ walk 14km OS 52
Crieff circular via River Earn and Laggan Hill, minimal ascent. Meet LNRS 08:00.

Saturday 24 October B walk 10km OS 72/78/79
A favourite walk over 2 Donalds. Parking by Megget Stone then Carlavin Hill, Moll’s Cleuch Dod, Firthybrig Head, Lochcraig Head, Nickies Knowe and Woodbrae. 500m ascent. Meet LNRS 07:30.

Sunday 25 October C+ walk 14.6km OS 51
Glen Lochay circuit over tracks and minor tarred road. 340m ascent. Meet LNRS 08:00.

Thursday 29 October C walk 5km OS 58
Falkland circular to Maspie Den and East Lomond. 200m ascent on good tracks and paths. Meet at the Football Stadium Car Park, Alderstone Road, Livingston NT 047670 10:00.

Saturday 31 October B walk 12km OS 50
Beinn Chuirn (Corbett). 700m ascent. Meet LNRS 07:30.